A Special Treasure

In 2006, I was living in Wadesboro, North Carolina, training with Becky Holder at her Windhaven Farm.  On one very rare “free day” I decided to take a road trip to Asheville, NC.  Asheville is famous for its artist community, pottery, and furniture.  During that trip I acquired some beautiful pieces of pottery.  Some I gave as gifts when I returned home to Libertyville (Chicago).  I kept two pieces for myself.  A turtle and a horse hair pot.

IMG_3169

The horse hair pot is far and away one of my favorite pieces of pottery, I love the shape of this pot as well as the “color” and design which includes a feather and ginko leaves in addition to horse hair (the zig zag lines are made by the horse hair).

Ike - FRVPC Water 99

On November 30, my first event horse, Ike (aka Little Grundoon) left this world for greener pastures.  He was 31 years old.  I had owned him for 16 years.  He spent the last years of his life living on the rolling, clover covered hills of Upperville, VA, cared for by Kristin and Joe Hickey.

After saying goodbye to my dear old man, I wandered through the shops in Middleberg looking for a treasure to take home that would hold the memory of my life with Ike and his final day, spent with Ike and Kristin and Joe.  When I met another dear friend, Kaiti Saunders, for dinner that night, I was frustrated.  Nothing I had seen that afternoon called to my heart, but I didn’t want to leave Virginia without a “special something” that represented Ike.

Kaiti and I go back to my beginnings in eventing and the start of her relationship with her horse Spot (aka Presto) and mine with Ike.   That evening, back at her house, Kaiti showed me a horse hair pot that she had commissioned in memory of Spot.  That was it!  I couldn’t take it home with me the next morning, but I knew that having Ike’s tail hair incorporated into a horse hair pot was the memory keeper I had been looking for.

Ike's Sunset over Middleberg, VA
Ike’s Sunset over Middleberg, VA

I suppose it was the gift of providence that caused me to tuck the artist’s business card into the pot that day in 2006.  Today, I wrangled the card out of the tiny mouth of the pot and through the wonder that is the internet, I found Edge Barnes’ contact information and spoke with him today.  He is excited to create two special pots for me, and I am excited to share this with you, in case, one day, you might be looking for that special something that will forever capture your memory of a great horse in your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Special Treasure

  1. This piece of pottery is amazing. It is a wonderful way to have a part of your hose with you after they are gone.

Leave a Reply

