Personal Preparation for a Horse Show Weekend

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Today I gave myself a special treat!  A 45 minute coaching session with my colleague Sary, who lives in Vancouver, Canada.  When Sary asked how we might best use our time together, I immeidatey thought of the anxiety I was facing, leaving my husband alone for the first time to care for the horses, while I went to the Fox River Valley Pony Club Horse Trials in Barrington Hills, Illinois.

As Sary began to ask questions, I realized I was actually much more anxious about the show.  Sary helped me acknowledge that I have become a bit ambivalent about horse showing in recent years.  I have begun to feel that they are a chore or an intrusion on time spent with my husband and daughter, time on the farm and in my garden, time coaching and marketing my business.  Most of the time I really enjoy myself once I get there, but the days leading up to the show make me regret the entry fee.

I described my feelings as anxious and nervous, unprepared and overwhelmed.  Sary asked how I would rather feel.  This is a key question in a coaching session because we tend to bring into our lives the things we focus on.  Obviously, I do not want to be anxious or unprepared, I *want* to be relaxed, focused, confident and excited about the upcoming competition.  Sary’s question led me to focus my mind on what I do want and how to bring those feelings and emotions into my life.

We discussed the steps I could take to make my weekend relaxing, which started with having a plan, a checklist and a timetable.  Sary required that I put a time frame around the creation of these things.  I reviewed my afternoon and we agreed that I would create a plan after I picked up my daughter from camp and we finished at the grocery store.

We also discussed possible roadblocks to the execution of my plan.  I identified the ever possible, always poorly timed, “Something suddenly came up!” from the babysitter.  Which led me to create a backup plan with my mother so that I could complete my show preparation on Thursday and take a sorely needed jumping lesson.

We finished our session by identifying the value of enjoying my weekend and feeling excited about showing and by acknowledging the other people who benefit from the creation of positive energy in my life.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Preparation for a Horse Show Weekend

  1. Pingback: Six Reasons We Give Up on Goals | Sugar Tree Life Coaching

Leave a Reply

